Staff Spotlight: Talma Udoka Osuoju

Staff Spotlight: Talma Udoka Osuoju

Get to know our team member: Talma Udoka Osuoju, Housekeeping
Enjoy a Q&A with Selfhelp staff member, Talma Udoka Osuoju! Talma is part of our Housekeeping team, she plays an important role in keeping our home clean and tidy.

Q: How long have you been working at Selfhelp and what do you like most about it?

A: I have only been working at Selfhelp for three months, so I am relatively new here. I like it very much because I am surrounded by really good and nice people.

Q: Were you born in the US or are you coming from any other country?

A: I was not born in the United States, I was originally born in Nigeria in Africa.

Q: When did you come to America?

A: I came in 2021, so not that long ago.

Q: Why did you decide to come to Chicago?

A: I came to Chicago because I have a husband here who is an American citizen. I have a family here so I had no other choice than coming to Chicago.

Q: Do you like Chicago and if so, what do you like most about it?

A: Yes, I like Chicago. I have been downtown multiple times and I enjoyed that. Also, my house is not too far from here so I am very close to my work.

Q: Do you have family here in the US or is your family still in your home country?

A: A lot of my family is still in Nigeria. I have three children in Nigeria, who I really miss. My kids are called Sharon, who is seven years old, Talma is five years old and Bethel is four years old.

Q: Do you visit your home country regularly or have you ever been back there?

A: I just came recently, this March makes it two years. If I have the money, I really want to travel to Nigeria and see my family.

Q: What kind of work did you do in Nigeria?

A: I was a businesswoman. We worked with supplies.

Q: What is your first language and can you teach us anything in your first language?

A: I speak English and Igbo. Hello in Igbo is “Ndeewo.”

Q: What do you miss about your home country?

A: I miss the weather, it is warmer there. But most of all, I miss my children and my family. My mother, brothers and sisters are still living in Nigeria. I love Nigeria as a country and especially the people there, but the economy is really bad.

Q: Do you have a favorite food?

A: To be honest, I like all different kinds of food. I am not a picky eater.

Q: Do you have a favorite book or movie?

A: I really like Nigerian movies and Indian movies like Bollywood movies. As a kid my favorite author was James Sullivan.

Q: Do you like traveling? Where would you like to go some day?

A: I don’t really like traveling that much. But I think I would like to go to Canada some day, depends if my husband wants to go there, too.

Q: What do you like to do in your free time?

A: My passion is singing, it makes me very happy. I love singing but I am very shy to sing in front of people.

Q: Do you have a pet at home?

A: No, I don’t have a pet right now. I really like dogs; in Nigeria I once had a dog, which was really nice.

Now Hiring at The Selfhelp Home
Are you interested in joining our team? The Selfhelp Home is hiring! We have many career opportunities available. Click here to view the positions we have open!